Janeg888 5

Janeg888

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me:

Member since:20.04.2005

Reviews:7

Quote-start

Siem Reap

Quote-end
08.01.2007

Advantages:
Stunning amazing place

Disadvantages:
Time and distance to get there

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Shopping

Nightlife

Ease of getting around

Family Friendly

SightseeingExcellent

6 Ciao members have rated this review on average: helpful See ratings
helpful by (100%):
  1. jayin
  2. SaschaT
  3. gizmogizmo
and 4 other members

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

We visited Cambodia in 2003 along with Thailand and Vietnam. It has to be my most favourite place I have ever visted (which is now quite an extensive list)

The people are incredibly friendly, tourism is still in its infancy so whilst you have to be aware of the dangers and cons towards tourists by the far the majority of the people are just pleased you are visiting their country.

Cambodia has the highest level of disabilty per head of population than any other country in the world and when I returned I called myself the new Princess Diana in an attempt to raise swareness of the landmine issue. This is the reason so many people are minus one or more limbs.

We stayed in a rather grand hotel, The grand D'angkor part of the Raffles group. I would recommend staying in the best hotel you can afford as you need to take time to recuperate in your room from the heat and the walking of Angkor.

Angkor itself is truly amazing and it would be impossible to take in all the sights in a few days but all good guides will ensure you find the best.

We flew from Ho Chi Min to Siem reap which was quite an adventure the plane had thirteen passengers on board. 11 korean tourists and my husband and I. Siem reap airport had the lowest level of security of any airport I have travelled from (perhaps this was also more apparnet as we had flown from Vietnam where they take things very seriously!)

Anyone considering going to cambodia go now, don't hesitate it really is wonderful.

  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

Bollinger28 08.01.2007 19:12

Vietnam and Cambodia are on my list of places to go before I die. Lexy

helencbradshaw 08.01.2007 14:44

whoops, should read my sister went a few years ago.....

helencbradshaw 08.01.2007 14:44

my sister went a few books and I saw the pictures, very shocking. I also read a few biographies of young people caught up in the problems of the 1970s, I wept at one book in particular, it was so dreadful.

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Siem Reap (Cambodia) »

1 to 3 out of 7 similar offers for Siem Reap (Cambodia) Show all similar offers
Laos & Cambodia multi-centre holiday, Luang Prabang, Siem Reap, Phnom Penh & optional beach break - save 31%

Laos & Cambodia multi-centre holiday, Luang Prabang, Siem Reap, Phnom Penh & optional beach break - save 31%

This offer is available for departures between May and November 2014 and is based on two ... more

adults only.Flights are included from London
Heathrow to Luang Prabang. One piece of hand
luggage and 20kg hold luggage allowance per person
is included, as well as private airport
transfers.The discount:We advertise this offer at
up to 31% off. We calculate this discount
percentage based on the rates we offer compared to
the supplier's online rate. An example of our top
discount is:On 07/06/2014, (leaving from London
Heathrow), two people may book this holiday
(inclusions as noted above) and will pay £2,024
per person, per stay, compared to the supplier's
online rate of £2,935 per person, per stay. Based
on this calculation, by booking with Secret
Escapes, you will save 31%.The discounts, price
and availability stated above were checked on
24/03/2014.The offer is 100% non-refundable and
date changes are not possible once the booking has
been made.Secret Escapes is acting as an agent for
Premier Holidays with ATOL number (2713) and your
contract is with that company. You'll find contact
details for Premier Holidays in your booking
received email.

 Visit Shop  >
secretescapes.com
Information: 
:  refer to website

Rate it now
Vista Point  SIEM REAP ANGKOR Cambodia [DVD] [NTSC]

Vista Point SIEM REAP ANGKOR Cambodia [DVD] [NTSC]

Release Date: 2012-10-11, Rating: Exempt

 Visit Shop  >
amazon dvd
Information: 
:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Angkor Wat and Siem Reap (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) - Nick Ray

Angkor Wat and Siem Reap (Lonely Planet Encounter Guides) - Nick Ray

Pages: 144, Paperback, Lonely Planet Publications

 Visit Shop  >
amazon marketplace books
Information: 
:  Usually dispatched within 1-2 business days...

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Siem Reap (Cambodia) has been rated:

"helpful" by (100%):

  1. jayin
  2. SaschaT
  3. gizmogizmo

and 4 other members

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

HanumanAlaya Boutique Guesthouse, Siem Reap

HanumanAlaya Boutique Guesthouse, Siem Reap

(+) Location, style, service
(-) Do check your bar bill

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, Siem Reap

Sonalong Boutique Village & Resort, Siem Reap

Resort - Street 27, Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia

User reviews (1)

Buy Now

Independence Hotel, Sihanoukville

Independence Hotel, Sihanoukville

Hotel - 2 Thnou, Sangkat No. 3, Khan Mittapheap, Sihanouk Ville, Cambodia, Sihanoukville, Cambodia

Rate it now

Buy Now



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Siem Reap (Cambodia)? Click here