elspeth33... 5

elspeth334

Add to my Circle of Trust

Subscribe to reviews

About me: THANK YOU FOR MY SHINY DIAMOND I WILL TREASURE IT

Member since:26.07.2000

Reviews:246

Members who trust:170

Quote-start

Toronto in Autumn

Quote-end
26.08.2000 (10.05.2001)

Advantages:
Plenty to do

Disadvantages:
none

Recommendable Yes:

Detailed rating:

Value for Money

Shopping

Nightlife

Ease of getting around

Family Friendly

Sightseeing

37 Ciao members have rated this review on average: very helpful See ratings
exceptional by (1%):
  1. ZoltanLouis
very helpful by (95%):
  1. Delicate_Orchid
  2. skeet263
  3. sirpeter405
and 67 other members
helpful by (4%):
  1. amyturtle
  2. zoe_page
  3. Bruce1958

View all ratings

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Share this review on Google+

We arrived at Pearson Airport after a seven hours flight for our weeks short break in Toronto. There were plenty of shuttle buses available to ferry passenger to the many city centre hotels. It was in the month of October and the autumn colours could only be described as breathtaking.

Toronto is quoted as being “like New York but run by the Swiss”. Perhaps a bit unfair it is a beautiful city spotlessly clean and feels really safe to wander about at night. It is situated on the shores of Lake Ontario and is a sprawling metropolis of diverse cultures.

Having so little time we wanted to cram as much as possible into our short stay.We found the Hop on Hop off bus a great way to see the city and get our bearings. I am not sure of the price as this was included in our holiday.

Places we visited

Casa Loma
This is a 98 room castle built by the millionaire royalist Sir Henry Pellatt, he spent a fortune on it but actually only lived there for about 10 years.I found this a fascinating place to visit and there is a commentary on headset available at the cash desk. My children on the other hand found this to be the most boring part of the trip and headed
for the shop. Casa Loma is open 10 till 4 in winter and there is an admission charge. I am not sure what the current charges are.

C N Tower
At 1,815 foot (553m) this is the worlds tallest free standing structure. The views from the top are fantastic and on the public observation deck to is possible to see the spray from Niagara Falls 30 miles away. At 1.150ft there is a revolving restaurant giving diners a 360- degree view over the city and lake. There is also a section of glass floor which you can stand on it gives the impression of standing in mid air not for the faint hearted.

Sky Dome
The dome is home to the famous Toronto Blue Jays a major league baseball team and also the Argonauts a Canadian Football team. It is absolutely huge and is the venue for all sorts of sporting events and concerts and is famous for its retractable roof. We did the tour round the stadium and this was much more to my sons liking.

Ontario Science Centre
This is a great place with lots of hands on displays, there is everything from planes to computers, drive cars or operate a TV camera. It was brilliant and a map given at the entrance helps you find your way about allow at least 4 hours for your visit I know we really had to drag ourselves away. It is situated on the outskirts and we went by cab
and it wasn’t too expensive. It is open daily except Christmas there is a cafe and shop.

Boat Trip
We took a boat trip round the Toronto Islands and the views of Toronto were stunning from the water and the ideal opportunity to take some holiday pictures.

Eaton Centre
For all the shopaholics out there this is heaven. It is a fantastic shopping centre on three levels with beautiful fountains and a flight of Canadian Geese hanging from the roof. It forms part of Torontos underground city. It houses over 1000 shops, restaurants,nightclubs and Cinemas and you can wander around Toronto for miles under ground not caring what the weather is like outside.This is only one of the great
shopping areas there is also China town, The Antique Markets and the up market
shops on Bloor Street.

Niagara Falls
I don’t think any trip to Toronto would be complete without a trip to Niagara Falls. It is 90 miles away round Lake Ontario and is one of the most famous natural wonders of the world. We went on a bus tour and our first stop in Niagara Park was at the floral clock, definitely another photo opportunity. Then it was on to the Falls an awesome display of raw power the noise is incredible and the spray rises high in the air causing a permanent rainbow over the Falls. We donned our blue plastic coats and nervously waited in line to board The Maid of the Mist the boat that takes you very very close to the Falls. It was an incredible feeling of awe at the view while praying that the boat stayed on an even keel and delivered us safely back on dry land though dripping wet.

To sum up I feel I have just scratched the surface of Toronto with this review there is so much more I haven’t mentioned. In October when we were there it was still warm though cold at night and even if it had rained it is possible to walk for miles under ground. I highly recommend this at a holiday destination.


  Write your own review

Share this review on Google+

« Previous review   Next review »

Rate this review »

How helpful would this review be to a person making a buying decision? Rating guidelines

Rate as exceptional

Rate as somewhat helpful

Rate as very helpful

Rate as not helpful

Rate as helpful

Rate as off topic

Write your own review Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful. Write a review and you will earn 0.5p per rating if other members rate your review at least helpful.   Report a problem with this review’s content

Comments about this review »

ZoltanLouis 20.11.2007 15:51

Great review - you're right, there is so much to see you do scratch the surface when you write a review on Toronto

ajfoster 22.01.2004 05:07

Great review of a great city. When I went there a few months ago, I opted to see some of the more obscure sites. (My review has been dutifully posted.) --AJF

richiev10 27.06.2002 00:45

Thank you for writing such a great opinion, it was extremely helpful in givng me ideas for places to visit, espcially the Science Centre

Add your comment

max. 2000 characters

  Post comment

Similar offers for Toronto (Canada) »

1 to 3 out of 58 similar offers for Toronto (Canada) Show all similar offers
Vista Point  TORONTO Canada [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]

Vista Point TORONTO Canada [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]

Release Date: 2012-10-11, Rating: Exempt

 Visit Shop  >
amazon dvd
Information: 
:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Vista Point  TORONTO Canada [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]

Vista Point TORONTO Canada [DVD] [2013] [NTSC]

Release Date: 2013-04-12, Rating: Exempt

 Visit Shop  >
amazon dvd
Information: 
:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

Let's Shop  Toronto Canada [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]

Let's Shop Toronto Canada [DVD] [2012] [NTSC]

Release Date: 2012-10-11, Rating: Exempt

 Visit Shop  >
amazon dvd
Information: 
:  Usually dispatched within 24 hours...

More reviews »

Review Ratings »

This review of Toronto (Canada) has been rated:

"exceptional" by (1%):

  1. ZoltanLouis

"very helpful" by (95%):

  1. Delicate_Orchid
  2. skeet263
  3. sirpeter405

and 67 other members

"helpful" by (4%):

  1. amyturtle
  2. zoe_page
  3. Bruce1958

The overall rating of a review is different from a simple average of all individual ratings.

Products you might be interested in »

Comfort Suites City Centre, Toronto

Comfort Suites City Centre, Toronto

Hotel - 200 Dundas Street East, Toronto M5A 4R6 - 151 Rooms

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 96.89

Novotel North York, Toronto

Novotel North York, Toronto

Hotel - 3 Park Home Avenue, Toronto M2N 6L3 - 3 Stars - 260 Rooms

Rate it now

Buy now for only £ 60.33



Are you the manufacturer / provider of Toronto (Canada)? Click here